Theft in Texas

 The Texas Penal Code for Theft states the following:

 Sec. 31.03.  THEFT. 

(a)  A person commits an offense if he unlawfully appropriates property with intent to deprive the owner of property.

 (b)  Appropriation of property is unlawful if:

 (1)  it is without the owner’s effective consent;

 (2)  the property is stolen and the actor appropriates the property knowing it was stolen by another;  or

 (3)  property in the custody of any law enforcement agency was explicitly represented by any law enforcement agent to the actor as being stolen and the actor appropriates the property believing it was stolen by another.

Punishment for Theft in Texas

As a general rule, the value of the stolen property determines the level of the offense.  The punishment ranges are generally referred to as a “theft ladder” as follows:



Less than $100

Class C Misdemeanor


Class B Misdemeanor

$750.00 – $2,499.00

Class A Misdemeanor

$2,500 – $29,999.99

State-jail Felony

$30,000 – $149,999

3rd Degree Felony

$150,000 – $299,999.99

2nd Degree Felony

$300,000 or more

1st Degree Felony

However, the ladder is just the starting point.  There are numerous ways that a theft charge can be enhanced – upgraded to a more serious offense, including the prior criminal history and the items stolen.

In addition to criminal penalties, theft is considered a crime of moral turpitude, which may affect job applications, your right to serve as a juror, and your character as a witness in legal proceedings.

Knowing the specific facts of your case and your life gives us options to keep a theft conviction off your record.

If you are facing a Theft charge, call Attorney Al Rowland today at (469) 626-7529!